2017 Awards of Excellence

 awards of excellence 2017

Wednesday May 31, 2017
6:00 p.m. Cocktail
7:30 p.m. Awards of Excellence Gala
9:00 p.m. Post-Gala Reception

CBC Glenn-Gould Studio
250 Front St W, Toronto, ON M5V 3G5

Grand Prize for Best Production, All Categories

The Incredible Tales of Weidwood Manor

produced by All Play, No Work, Relish Interactive

Best Program, Live Action, Ages 3-5

The Adventures of Napkin Man

(bye bye boogaloo) produced by Breakthrough Entertainment, aired on CBC kids


Hi Opie! (Opie's Ladybug Friend) – produced by marblemedia, in association with The Jim Henson Company, aired on: TVO, Knowledge, City Saskatchewan

The Moblees (Zig Zag Surprize) – produced by Shaftesbury, Boulevard Productions, in association with the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, Ohmland Holdings and William Kohane, aired on: CBC

Playdate (Whistle While You Escape) – produced by Sinking Ship Entertainment, aired on: Family Jr.

Terrific Trucks (The Tricky Twin/ The Difficult Day) – produced by Breakthrough Entertainment, aired on: Sprout

Best Program, Live Action, Ages 6-9


(The Mother of Invention) produced by Sinking Ship Entertainment, aired on TVO Kids, Amazon


 Bruno & Boots: Go Jump In The Pool – produced by Aircraft Pictures, aired on: YTV

The Mystery Files (The Mystery of the Underground Railroad) – produced by Apartment 11 Productions, aired on: TVO Kids

Odd Squad: The Movie – produced by Sinking Ship Entertainment, aired on: TVO Kids, PBS

The Stanley Dynamic (The Stanley Wild Weekend) – produced by Amaze Film Television, aired on: YTV

Best Program, Live Action, Ages 9+


(Amherstberg Sports Park) produced by Sinking Ship Entertainment, aired on TVO Kids


LM Montgomery's Anne of Green Gables – produced by Breakthrough Entertainment, aired on: YTV, PBS

The Next Step (How Deep Is Your Love) – produced by Radical Sheep Productions, a division of Boat Rocker Media, aired on: Family Channel, CBBC

Raising Expectations (The Great Hot Dog Escape) – produced by Aircraft Pictures, aired on: Family Channel

Ride (Arrival) – produced by Breakthrough Entertainment, Buccaneer Media, aired on: YTV, Nickelodeon

Best Original Digital Content


produced by GAPC Entertainment, in association with TVO Kids and Media Group TFO


Miss Persona – produced by Hazel House Productions

Pixies – produced by Arcana Studio

YTV - Road Trip Diaries – produced by Bristow Global Media

Best Original Interactive Content

The Incredible Tales of Weirdwood Manor

produced by All Play, No Work, Relish Interactive


mPower - Kindergarten to Grade 2 – produced by TVO

Science Max Interactive – produced by Breakthrough Entertainment

The Westbury Faery – produced by Log Cabin Productions, Plot Media in partnership with The Seventh World and Tiny Owl Publishing

Best Cross-Platform Interactive Content


produced by Industrial Brothers


Driving Me Crazy – produced by marblemedia

Kids' CBC Olympics website – produced by CBC

Look Kool Online, season 2 – produced by Apartment 11 Productions

Opie's Playground – produced by marblemedia

Best Program, Animation, Ages 3-5

Peg + Cat, Season 2 

(The Disappearing Art Problem) produced by 9 Story Media Group, The Fred Rogers Company, 9ate7 Productions, aired on: YTV, Treehouse, PBS Kids


Daniel Tiger's Neighbourhood, Season 2 (Nighttime in the Neighborhood) – produced by 9 Story Media Group, The Fred Rogers Company, Out of the Blue, aired on: CBC, PBS Kids

Dot. (One Soggy Knight) – produced by Industrial Brothers, in association with The Jim Henson Company, aired on: CBC, Sprout

Justin Time (Who Stole My Cat) – produced by Guru Studio, aired on: DHX, Family Jr.

PAW Patrol (Tracker Joins the Pups!) – produced by Spin Master Entertainment, aired on: Nickelodeon, Knowledge, Netflix

Ranger Rob (The Woolly Wiligo of Big Sky Park / A Big Sky Park Elephant Train) –produced by Nelvana Limited, Studio Liddell, aired on: Treehouse

Best Program, Animation, Ages 6-9


(Cavity of Terror/The Sickness of Home) produced by Radical Sheep Productions, a division of Boat Rocker Media, aired on: Family CHRD, Disney XD


Atomic Puppet (AP Vs Disastro II) – produced by Mercury Filmworks, aired on: Teletoon, Disney

Rocket Monkeys (Chimpsky a Go Go/The Yell in Yellow) – produced by Breakthrough Entertainment, aired on: YTV

Wild Kratts, Season 4 (Pangolin Rescue) – produced by 9 Story Media Group, Kratt Brothers Company, aired on: TVO Kids, PBS Kids

Outstanding Achievement Award

Steven DeNure

President and Chief Operating Officer of DHX Media, a company he co-founded in 2006.


Emerging Talent Award

Mars Horodyski



This year’s Youth Media Alliance gala will be hosted by the mind-blowing trio of Tony Kim, Janaye Upshaw and Victor Verbitsky. A likeable threesome who are already very well acquainted, having worked together on the new CBC Kids morning show Studio K since January. Carly Watt and Aidan Cosgrave, in turn, will orchestrate the gala from behind the scenes, respectively as its writer and director. A CSA-nominated children’s media producer, director and writer, Carly currently writes and directs for Studio K. Aidan, in turn, has directed the YMA Awards of Excellence Gala for a number of years now. It’s the first time ever that the gala will be hosted by a trio: a dazzling new approach!


Tony Kim is a lovable and hilarious nerd hailing from Vancouver. In addition to being a star improviser, Tony has a number of acting credits to his name. Tony brings with him a variety of musical talents including vocals, rap, piano and clarinet. He is always at the ready to defend his title as Comic Book Nerd Champ, in either English or Vietnamese. His warm, youthful energy and comfort on camera make Tony feel like an instant friend.

 vicJanaye Upshaw is a joyful, athletic and funny person who brings a love of dance and song to CBC Kids. With a range of film and television experience under her belt, Janaye has a natural comfort on camera and an infectious personality. Her authenticity and positivity make her the perfect addition to our team of hosts. As a mother of two small children, Janaye also brings a unique perspective.


Victor Verbitsky is funny, musical, down to earth and cool. A graduate of the film and television program at Humber College, a proficient improviser and former host on YTV, Victor brings experience and talent. Both playful and a little cheeky, Victor is always engaging. Whether playing guitar or an extreme sport, Victor sets a new bar for cool.


Advisory Committee

  • Lioz Bouganin, Landslide Entertainment
  • Jennifer Burkitt, Log Cabin Productions
  • J.J. Johnson, Sinking Ship Entertainment
  • Brandon Lane, Teletoon/Corus
  • Donna MacNeil, marblemedia
  • Jessica McLaughlin, TVO
  • Michelle Melanson Cuperus, Radical Sheep
  • Brenda Nietupski
  • Sandrine Pechels de Saint Sardos, Groupe Media TFO
  • Jillianne Reinseth, Entertainment One
  • John Rooney, Johnromedia
  • Marlowe Stone
  • Travis Williams, Mercury Filmworks
  • Jamie Piekarz
Back to top